Move to NC?

Discussion in 'Off Topic [BG]' started by MikeyFingers, Oct 27, 2005.

1. I live in New York right now, have all my life. Last year one of my best friends moved to North Caroline for college. I've been down there twice to visit so far and I like the town and everything.
    First off, let me tell you a bit about myself. I graduated high school over 2 years ago and have done pretty much nothing since then. I hang out with the same handful of friends all the time, work the same job since 11th grade, do the same thing every day, and the predictability really gets on my nerves.
    I've been talking to my friend in NC, and we both agree that it would be pretty cool if I moved down there with him. He lives in a kickass apartment complex where rent is DIRT cheap compared to anything in NY. About $700 for a NICE 2 bedroom apartment down there, where in NY the same apartment would well be over $1000. EVERYTHING is cheaper down there, so financially speaking it's a great idea.
    I could save up some money and move down there in a few months. I never had my own place and I've been busting to get out of my parents house for a while now. I could go to the University of North Carolina in Charlotte, which is only a short drive from his town. Overall it would be a pretty sweet life down there.
    BUT, I would be leaving the rest of my friends, which would suck immensely, I'd be 700 miles from any family, and I'd have to pretty much start over completely.
    I've been thinking about this for a few weeks now and I'm still not sure what to do. He keep telling me to do it soon, I keep delaying.
    I know this isn't exactly the best place to ask for advice on the subject but I need some outside input.
  2. Gard

Gard Commercial User

Mar 31, 2000
    Greensboro, NC, USA
    General Manager, Roscoe Guitars