moving past syncing bassline with kick drum

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by remo, Jun 23, 2005.

1. remo

Jan 15, 2005
    I’ve been playing in this band for about two months, all the material is original and written before I joined the band. I’ve played bass for about 6 year but never played bass in an original band before. The bands sound is soft/alt rock. It's pretty straight forward pop music really.

I listen to lots of chart pop music and other stuff and often hear the bass just simply syncing with the kick with a run here and there in certain spots to highlight main parts etc… I have adopted this style in my bassline creation in this band but now I’m getting negative feedback from the band that my parts are TOO in sync with the drums and not flowing enough. I hear things like “its all nice and neat but it does not fit the song”. And "play more wit the vocals than the drums"...

I do agree my parts are simple (just syncing with the kick and adding a run here and there) but I’m also very conscious of “over playing” and don’t want to ruin the songs with too many bass notes…

The drummer has quite syncopated kick drum patterns which I think already give me enough “notes/beats” to follow. i feel that the drummer needs to simplify his parts if anything. Less cymbals, tom "parts" and fills at every oppertunity (I've mentioned this but the rest of the band seems to like the overplaying)... I'm staring to feel the band wanting MORE parts (bass, drums etc) because they are not confident enough to simply let the songs stand up on their own without the sonic "overstuffing".

What I’m trying to figure out is why does the “bass locking with kick” method work on these pop songs I hear on the radio so well but in my band I’m asked to write more melodic and flowing basslines (song within a song kind of stuff)…