1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Moving to a high humidity area

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by flyingwalrus, Jun 8, 2012.

1. Hello Folks,

Towards the end of July I'll be moving from the south of the United Kingdom to Vienna, Virginia in the US. I gather the humidity over there is much more than I'm used to. My bass gear will be shipped over in July and apparently has to spend up to a couple of months at the docks waiting for US Customs to clear it all.

I'm assuming that the basses in particular won't be stored in a climate controlled area, so can I ask if there's anything I should be doing to mitigate any harmful effects like neck warping and so on? Should I loosen the strings, and/or the truss rod, which is incidentally something I've never done myself before, having been blessed with excellent local guitar techs?

Also, for any of you in the North Virginia/South Maryland/DC area, are there any good bass techs you can recommend, and any decent music stores with a good range of amps in particular? My current rig won't work on US voltages, so on paper anyway I'm looking at the Genz Benz Shuttle 6.2 and the Aguilar Tone Hammer 350/SL112 combination.

Many thanks for your help, it's very much appreciated.

Best regards,

Ian

2. I'm no expert, but from what I've read, you should NOT loosen the strings. It's got something to do with the truss rod being set up for a particular tension, so when that tension is removed (loose strings) the neck will actually bow, as there is no counter resistance from the strings. I know with Ernie Ball Musicman basses, they're set up to play at the factory, packed and shipped all over the world—and they usually play amazingly right out of the box (I've owned 4 of their basses). So there you go.