1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

moving to fretless

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by AbB01, Jun 14, 2012.

1. AbB01

AbB01

Jun 14, 2012
    kolkata, india
    I'm new to bass, been learning for three years. I totally dig the tone of a fretless and decided to get myself one. I'm just scared whether i should do it this fast. :confused: as it is a lot different i guess. now as my first fretless what should i go for? a SVM jazz fretless so that i can get well versed on a fretless before going to a 6. or should i directly go for a warwick rockbass corvette fretless 6.

2. Wallace320

Wallace320 Commercial User

Mar 19, 2012
    Milan, Italy
    There's an ocean in between!

Anyway, instead of the Squier Vintage Modified fretless Jazz, I'd say Wilkinson Vintage Icon fretless Jazz.

The look is much more relic'd than the Squier's, but the body, the tone and the hardware are way better, keeping a bargain price my friend...

Then, if you're good enough for a fretless 6er... Much better!!!

Cheers,
    Wallace

3. AbB01

AbB01

Jun 14, 2012
    kolkata, india
    the problem? I'm from India :mad:.. only fender and warwick fretless basses are available. so you say i go for a four string first? the only four stringers available are the fenders and warwicks.. which one should i go for?

4. Wallace320

Mar 19, 2012
    Milan, Italy
    Go for a Fender MIM standard fretless Jazz, new or second hand depending on bucks availabilities of course, or Warwick's Rockbass for sure. Even 6er, if you're already comfortable with. Just beware of Squier Vintage Modified fretless Jazz. It's a matter of poor body wood and stock pickups, that's why the price is so low.

Just like that.
    Hope to be of any help: it's strange being italian and helping out an indian fellow TB, in this very moment. But no problem at all my friend.

Cheers,
    Wallace

5. Matthijs

Matthijs