Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Mr P.C. question

Discussion in 'Bassists [DB]' started by moped10, Aug 14, 2003.

1. moped10

moped10

Apr 9, 2003
    Wilmington, NC
    I've been listening to alot of Paul Chambers as of late and was wondering, does anyone know if he was a one finger pizz player (right hand;) ) or a two finger player- I know the two finger style was starting to catch on around then, but I also know he was a high action gut string player... Anyone?

2. Hello Moped,
    I am studying PC`s stuff alot right now. I picked up a Book at www.robgourlay.com Its some good stuff. I`m not a salesman or anything just leting you know. As far as his right hand I heard he would walk with his middle finger over his index...kinda like the cross my fingers promise thing but the middle being on top. I dont know if that is true its just what I heard. I do know that the Transcribed Lines in this book has some runs in slower tempo songs that I doubt very seriously he did with one finger....Hope it helps. As far as the book its well worth getting and seeing how he went about walking. I know I have gotten several ideas and insight useing it.

Dave

3. James S

James S

Apr 17, 2002
    New Hampshire
    A TV documentary of Miles Davis was made a few years back on which there is a short section of PC playing So What. There is a couple of close ups of his hands.

Many musicians have the video so I know you can find it if you really want to see Paul play.

4. I'm old enough to have seen Chambers live many times in NYC clubs. Can you imagine: Watching the Monk quartet with Sonny Rollins, and Chambers wandering in off the street in bedroom slippers to sit in.