Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

MTD Kingston, how are they?

Discussion in 'Ask Michael Dimin' started by BrettAM, Jun 7, 2002.

1. I've been shopping around for a few months now looking for a new electric bass, I've always been a huge fan of Mike Tobias' basses (IMO he is one of the three finest luthiers ever) and I've become terribly partial lately to a MTD Kingston. However, I thought I'd get your opinion on them, since you play an Heir. I haven't had a chance to try one out yet since the closest dealer of them is about three hours away. So, could you give me your thoughts?

2. Mike Dimin

Mike Dimin

Dec 11, 1999
    Clinician: EA, Zon, Boomerang, TI. Author "The Art of Solo Bass"
    Brett,

I love MTD basses as well. I think the Kingston and the Heir are some of the best basses you can get for the money. They are easily better than many basses that sell for twice their price. They play wonderfully and I feel that they can take a player as far as they want to go. That being said, they do have a distinctive sound. They have a very modern sound with crsip highs and well defined mids. If your looking for a bass to play a little reggae-dub or imitate James Jamerson's P-Bass with flatwounds, this is probably not the best instrument.

There are some who feel that a bass has to be active to be good, that is just not the case. Passive instruments can sound great. I prefer to record with a passive bass because it sounds better. Although the Heir and the Kingston are both passive, there is room in the control cavity to add a preamp if you later want to. I know some people have. I love mine just the way it is.

Mike

3. td1368

td1368

Jan 9, 2001
    Philadelphia
    Hey Brett and Mike,
    Hope you don't think I'm butting in but I just got my Heir, remember me Mike I'm the guy who's wife held my bass untill my birthday.