1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Much difference between 18mm and 19mm spacing for 5 string?

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by nosajwp, Oct 7, 2013.

1. nosajwp

nosajwp

Jun 14, 2005
    Winston-Salem, NC
    Is there much of a difference in playability between 18mm and 19mm bridge spacing for a 5 string? I know this will be subjective, but just wanted to see if anyone had direct experience with these.

2. KJung

KJung Supporting Member

I've been playing 19mm spacing on my 5's for many years now (probably 20 years). I just got a Roscoe with 18.3mm spacing and LOVE it. The only thing I notice is a more relaxed left hand feel. And to put this in perspective, I REALLY don't like that 17mm Music Man spacing.

So, for me, not much difference, and the difference is on the positive side for the 18.3mm.

3. Chasarms

Chasarms Casual Observer

May 24, 2001
    Bettendorf, IA USA
    IMO, it is less about the right-hand feel than it is about how the spacing translates to the neck geometry itself.

I have owned a few Fender 18mm basses that felt really clunky and at the same time, some 19mm that did not.

But to your question, if you own one and are interested in the other, it is not that big of a deal in terms of adapting the right hand.

Oddly though, I found owning a 19mm and 17mm at the same time a bit of a challenge. But, the necks are typically significantly different between the two. I have pretty much given up on 17mm fivers.

4. KJung

KJung Supporting Member

+1 in that there is a LOT more to a neck preference than just the bridge spacing.

5. lefty007

lefty007

Jan 19, 2004
    Miami, FL
    Music Man are 17.5 mm, to be exact. . . which is a palpable different from 17 mm, IMHO.