1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Muddy E String-is there a fix-I don't think so.

Discussion in 'Hardware, Setup & Repair [BG]' started by PPLJC, Jan 21, 2012.

1. PPLJC

PPLJC

Jan 21, 2012
    I have been playing for about 45 years and am getting together my old high school garage band, The Swiss Navy, the band that later spawned the original PPL. I've owned 50 guitars (almost all of which I wish I still owned) and a half a dozen basses and beaucoup amps. I really want a good sounding bass for the gig, so I'm going around to friends, listening to basses to see if I can find one, to barrow, that has a clean E-String.

I have never owned and have only played 4 electric basses in my life, that had a clean, no harmonics, E string. One was a 1964 Jazz, there were 2 wide neck 1959-ish P basses, and a 1980 Stingray. The problem is more noticeable with a pick, and is more common than herpes.

I once had a Les Paul Recording Bass that was the sweetest thing I ever played, BUT it had the worst, lets call it "wolftone", of any bass I ever played. You could hardly tune it.

I tried everything (strings, bridge, nut, neck adjustment, muffling, you name it) to fix that wonderful bass. I even carved and tapped a bridge piece for the e-string out of dogwood (and exceptionally hard wood) for the adjust-a-matic bridge.

I've tried BadAss type heavy bridges on other basses. No help. I've heard it on short, medium, and long scale basses. It sounds more prominent when a pick is used.