multi fx-- cheap and gigable?

Discussion in 'Effects [BG]' started by dgce, Jun 9, 2003.

1. dgce

Jun 17, 2001
    Massachusetts, USA
    I see so many inexpensive multi effects pedals for bass out there now (Digitech and Zoom come to mind) around the $60 to $150 range. I figure these might be cool for jaming at home and experimenting in your home studio but are any of these fit for a proper gig? If so, I might give one a shot to color a few songs.

Any suggestions?

2. Monkey

Monkey Supporting Member

Mar 8, 2000
    Dayton, Ohio, USA
    I have a Korg AX1B, which is a cheap multi-effects. It is fun to mess around with at home, but I found it hard to use live. Plus, the sound isn't great. I have been using it for the past two months live, though. I only use two settings (a phaser and a octave divider), so I don't have to tap dance on the buttons.

On mine, you have to step on both buttons to bypass the effect, and I don't have giant clown feet, so it is dicey to try it live. I just programmed blank settings between my own settings, so if I only hit one button, it gives the uncolored sound. I like the tuner, which I can mute.

My current pedalboard has a DOD FX25 (for reggae/dub tones), SABBDI, and the Korg.
  3. Jazz Ad

Jazz Ad Mi la ré sol Gold Supporting Member Supporting Member

Actually, the Korg is the only gigable cheap multi effect unit I've experienced.
    All others sound like toys.
    The AX-1 B has really good sounds when you get into it.
  4. I use a Zoom 607 for rehearsals and some gigs where I don't use many efx and don't need to haul out the big board for.
  5. RevGroove

RevGroove Commercial User

Jul 21, 2002
    Burlington ON Canada
    Manager, Account Services: Long & McQuade Ltd. (Burlington); MTD Kingston Basses International Emerging Artist; Bartolini Electronics Emerging Artist