1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Multitasking singing with Bass playing

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by Mobius_118, Jan 22, 2012.

1. I've been playing for about three years now, and suddenly my band wants me to be the front man; I can sing decently enough, and I play bass well enough. However, I've always had difficulty doing both at the same time. Anyone out there have any tips or links for newcomers to playing and singing?

2. Lots of practice. I know a few people that do the same and I have a long time ago. Sometimes you gotta simplify the bass lines but if you practice enough it will come

3. Jeff Mills

Jeff Mills

May 12, 2011
    Interesting topic - My son can do both at the same time, but then again he also plays drums and sings. What I've noticed about bass players that also sing is their bass lines contain some of the same notes as what they are singing.

Maybe start with something simple, like Grantchester Meadows where the bass line goes along with the words. I know it's being played on 6 string guitars but you can transpose to bass easy enough just let those open E and A's ring with your thumb. I guess what I'm trying to say is start with something straight forward to get the hang of it.

I can sing and play at the same time but you don't want to hear me sing - talking about clearing a room in a hurry? put me behind a mic :)

4. Armyof1

Armyof1

Mar 25, 2010
    my brain just goes into a different mode. i can play and sing, then walk over to the stage edge and talk to someone then go back and adjust the pa system. all while singing thru my headset mic. its not magic but your halves of your mind just seem like they split and then you can do anything.....play in one time siggy and sing in another one, now thats fun and what gets me all my work!