Music a lesson in humility

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous [BG]' started by mcbassdude, May 23, 2003.

1. Am I alone?
    The more I learn about the bass, and the better I get, the more I realize just how much I don't know.
    Although I've been a working bassist for 20+ years and although I usually get the gig's I audition for, even though the cats I play with give me props, I often feel like "Man, this is the time they figure out that I can't play bass"
    Do I need therapy or what?
  2. moley

Sep 5, 2002
    Hampshire, UK
    You're definitely not alone.
  3. Fliptrique

Jul 22, 2002
    Szczecin, Poland
    Endorsing Artist: Mayones Guitars&Basses, Taurus Amplification
    yup. you`re fine.

I`m a moderately skilled graphican, and despite the fact that folks consider me good, and I`m able to make my living just by doing graphics, I get that "i`m nothing" felling quite often:) There`s always something new to learn, discover.
  4. There is always someone better in everything you do - whether you're aware of it or not. That doesn't mean that you can't aspire to be the best you can. Afterall, you can't really do any better than that.
  5. Nino Valenti

Nino Valenti Supporting Member Commercial User

Feb 2, 2001
    Staten Island NYC
    Builder: Valenti Basses
    Every so often I see my friends that are bassest & I'm like damn, they're awesome. Then I hear those same friends give me the same praise I just gave them.
  6. Im a sock

Im a sock

Dec 23, 2002
    Central MA
    diddo nino... or I see some pro (think victor wooten) and think to myself... THIS is why I suck. My non-bass playing friends don't get it.... :D
  7. Caeros

Jul 24, 2002
    Branford, CT
    I get that way when I see my bassist friends play, it only makes me want to practice more.
  8. Nice to see I'm not alone on this one.
    I'm always a bit embarrased when my band mates slap me on the back and give me a high 5.