1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Music/Instrumental Grants

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous [BG]' started by billthebassist, Feb 25, 2008.

1. billthebassist

billthebassist

Feb 18, 2003
    Let me make it clear. I'm not looking for sympathy, and I'm not trying to piss and moan. Just looking for some help/information to get me started.

Heres the deal:

I'm a student at the university of central missouri. I play in the top jazz band, the top wind ensemble, the symphony and the jazz rock combo. I love this ****. No lie. Heres the problem. My equipment is trashed. I've been playing on the jazz bass I built in high school for 5 years now. My upright situation consists of an old (who knows how old) laminate that I'm borrowing from my old high school. I love the character of this bass but it rattles to no end (especially bad when amplified).
    Enough of the sob story. Heres what I need.

Does anyone know of any scholarships/grants that are offered for music students? I'm hurting because I'm at the point where my gear is holding me back. I'm looking into student loans but it seems as if they just want to rape me. ***

Thanks guys I appreciate everything. I've done some research and I think I can get an upright and a fretless for around $6000.
    Once again I thank you all and any information will be helpful.

Billthebassist

2. I really can't help you on the 'can I get a grant' but if you could, I very much doubt you'd get $6000... Aim too high and you shoot yourself, ask for $6000 and they'll laugh, and probably not even consider other requests..

3. ProfGumby

ProfGumby

Jan 15, 2007
    Michigan's U.P.
    Have you tried asking your Music teacher or guidance counselor or some such person? That'd be my first step.....or get a (another) job and save?

Not trying to be a smart***, just wonderin...........

4. billthebassist

billthebassist

Feb 18, 2003