1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Music majors

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by Taxxorrak, Mar 16, 2009.

1. Taxxorrak

Taxxorrak

Feb 7, 2009
    Norway.
    Hi!

I was just accepted as a music major, and I was wondering what sort of skills I should focus on to "prepare" for it? I must be doing something right to be accepted, but then again I'm sure there's alot to work on. I know that. And I know it will probably be very hard with intense work .. but it'll be worth it.

Anyone share their experiences with conservatories, etc?

2. basstubaguy

basstubaguy

Jun 18, 2008
    San Diego, CA
    I have a couple of degrees in music performance, on tuba, not bass. I went to the University of Michigan and Manhattan School of Music. You are asking the right questions, but I think you should speak with someone who plays your instrument at the school you plan to attend. The requirements, the structure, everything, will vary by instrument and school. Generally speaking, you will be subjected to music history and music theory without a doubt. If you're a bass player, obviously jazz theory will be very important. But to get a real feel for what you're in for, you need to contact a student.

Good luck.

3. DeLucha

DeLucha

Dec 11, 2007
    Hey there,Taxxorrak! Congratulations on your acceptance. Hopefully you enjoy the years to come.

I'm currently enrolled in a music college myself (Humber College) and I can say from my own experience that I didn't feel I was as prepared as I could have been. Of course, "prepared" all has to do with your own level of skill as well as how critical you are of your own abilities.