Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Music Man for the poor man?

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by Spanqubus, Sep 1, 2004.

1. Spanqubus

Spanqubus

Apr 28, 2003
    Hey... this is my first time posting in the bass forum, and I was wondering what the cheapest way to get that Music Man sound would be. Unfortunatly I have spent all my money on my rig and now I'm dying for something to go through it. I've been thinking about buying a P-bass and just cuttin it a bit to fit the Basslines MM pick-up, but I'm not too crazy about buying a bass and then cutting into it. Would this be hard to do with the electronics, cutting and all? I know my best bet would be to get a Music Man, but I just can't afford a $1000 bass right now, and I don't wanna buy any of the cheaper ones... I don't really care for the textured finishes. I don't really have a price range, I just wanna know the cheapest way to go.

Thanks

Jordan

2. rogerbmiller

rogerbmiller Gold Supporting Member

Sep 16, 2003
    NYC
    Your best bets to get close to the MM sound for as little dollars in my opinion would be (in descending order of price):

1) Try to find a used stingray that is really beat up. It will price much lower than one that is mint and should sound the same. Occaisionally MM "players" (beat up basses) appear on ebay and they usually do not bid up very high.

2) Buy a musicman S.U.B. These are under $700 and are very similar to the real thing. Made in the USA, same specs, similar electronics.

3) Buy a used S.U.B. Should be between $400 and $500.