1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Music Man "Franken" Sterling Sub SB4 Re-do

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by mikecd1, Oct 29, 2013.

1. mikecd1

mikecd1 Supporting Member

Mar 3, 2009
    New England
    I had taken my son to GC so he could pick up a low cost bass to just fool around on and leave out in his room ImageUploadedByTalkBass1383064675.589222. ImageUploadedByTalkBass1383064722.890278. ImageUploadedByTalkBass1383064736.423976. to just pick up and play sometimes (drums are his main instrument). Of course as a fellow bassist I was looking around checking stuff out and then I saw this SB4 Sub and picked it up and just started playing it with no amp. It felt really good and the action was low and no buzzing so I gave it to my son and he played it a while plugged in then gave it back and I played it some more. For whatever reason he bought something else but the salesman gave me 15% off and of course I had 30 days to return. About a week went by and I loved the feel, but not the electronics. Does this sound familiar? That was how it started - I had some tuners and a Duncan mm pup then picked up an OBP 3 and what you see is a really sweet sounding Sterling bass. Wired in parallel it sounds pretty darned good next to the real thing. Very impressed with the basic build on these. Not sure if the SB4 is discontinued, but a cool little bass I'm looking forward to gigging with and taking to jams.

murphy likes this.
  2. mikecd1

Mar 3, 2009
    New England
  3. Webtroll

Webtroll Rolling for initiative

Apr 23, 2006
    Austin, TX
    Was there a significant improvement in tone? I played one recently, stock, and it was amazing. $249 new in store? Crazy!

4. mikecd1

Mar 3, 2009
    New England