Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Music Man HD-150 Amp

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by bertbassplayer, May 4, 2003.

1. Anyone have any experiences with this amp? I've been told that it has two channels, one for "Normal" or Guitar and one for Bass. I know its supposed to be 150 Watts RMS Tube. I was thinking about getting one, since I'm a bassist and a guitarist.

2. BillyB_from_LZ

BillyB_from_LZ Supporting Member

Sep 7, 2000
    Chicago
    If you don't get any help here, check http://www.harmonycentral.com and look in user reviews. Amp reviews (both guitar and bass) are held in the guitar site.

I've always viewed them as a guitar amp, but for low to low-moderate volume 4 string playing (with efficient cabinets), it might work just fine.

3. The harmony central site, really didn't have much to say. Just one guy saying it sounded great with his sabre bass.

4. Bert, Back in 1978 I bought the Music Man HD-130 with a MM front loaded 18 reflex cabinet. That is one hell of a great sounding amp. The normal side is not as punchy as the bass side but for guitar I think it will be fine. You can switch the amp for either 4ohm or 8ohm cabinets. Two speaker outs. I dont gig with it anymore cause I needed more power. I use it for a home practice amp 18 with an Ampeg 2-10. As long as the one you are looking at has not been abused it should do just fine. Dont think I would pay more than $100 for it. If you get a chance to try it out get it good and hot and turn it up. See if it makes any unwanted noise. If it does you may need to replace the tubes. Good luck!!

5. cadre bassman

cadre bassman

May 15, 2004
    Denver, CO
    I ran across one of these at a used equipment music store for $450 in Denver. Any thoughts on their value and sound for a practice bass amp?

6. cadre bassman

cadre bassman

May 15, 2004
    Denver, CO