1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Music Man SUB vs Squier CV Precision

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by gmtx725, Jan 11, 2012.

1. gmtx725

gmtx725

Jan 9, 2012
    OK, let me start off by saying I'm a novice bassist- I've never played before. I've been fishing around for advice on what to buy for my first bass for a while, and after some input from friends and online message boards, two leading candidates emerged:

1. Brand new Squier CV Precision Bass, £319 over here in the UK which is within my budget. I'm quite keen on the look of this, especially the lake placid blue colour (not that that counts for much but if you don't know anything about basses what better way to pick one than how it looks?)

2. A second hand Music Man SUB. I know someone selling one for £400, which I'm told is good value. Furthermore, I've been told SUBs are insanely good value for money and are some of the best basses available at the lower end of the price range. It's a little over budget for me, but I can still afford it. I think it looks nice as well, although not quite as nice as the Squier.

Guys, a simple question, which one should I go for?

2. Any chance you could try them out, both physically and sonically they are two very different kinds of bass guitars?

3. gmtx725

gmtx725

Jan 9, 2012
    "Any chance you could try them out, both physically and sonically they are two very different kinds of bass guitars? "

I can probably try out the Squier at my local music shop, but the guy who's selling the SUB lives on the other side of the country from me, so most likely not. To be honest, as a complete newbie, I'm not sure I'd really be qualified to judge them anyway if I did try them out- all I'd be doing would be awkwardly twanging the strings and looking incompetent!

4. johnson79

johnson79