Music readers: here's a laugh for you

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by Rockin John, May 1, 2002.

1. As a total newbie at the art of reading music, I decided on a simplified version of Bach's Air on a G string for my first attempt. I selected that piece because I'd learned to play it by ear so would know how it sounds.

I sight read the piece with quite some difficulty, wondering why the written music sounded nothing like the same piece I'd learned. I concluded that I'd played it properly to Bach's score and that the 'by ear' version was wrong.

It wasn't until the following day that I realised the key signature contains two sharps :eek: so that when I did it again with the naturals sounded correct.

Just goes to show. :eek: :D :eek:

2. I have done the same thing. Sometimes I hear things up a fourth or a fifth.

Still working on improving that. :D
  3. chrisbs

Jan 12, 2002
    the thing about reading is it is nice to be able to fall back on the score for authenticity.
    However, with classical composers, editors sometimes transpose their editions.
    So you have to take all of it with a grain of salt
  4. td1368

Jan 9, 2001
    Hey keep it up. I'm strugling with sight reading as well. One of the great benefits that never gets brought up in the tab/reading debates is the ability to play something on another instrument. I think its pretty cool to sit in front of a piano and not be completely dumfounded.
  5. JimK

Dec 12, 1999
    Rockin' J-
    Sounds as though you were goin' modal... ;)

When the mood hits, I'll practice a melody(or figure) like that.
    Example: If the melody is in the Key of "C"...I'll practice that melody, say, beginning on the 3rd degree, "E" (STAY IN THE KEY OF "C"!).
    Doing such alters where the whole &/or 1/2 steps fall...basically accomplishing what you experienced by omitting those two sharps. ;)
  6. cassanova

Sep 4, 2000