Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Music Store needs my Resume...help!

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous [BG]' started by FireBug, Oct 15, 2005.

1. FireBug

FireBug

Sep 18, 2005
    Houston
    I want to get a job at Rockin Robin's Guitars in Houston as a bass guy because well....what an awesome work-environment!

The manager is a man of few words. The guy I was on the phone with asked him something and he said "Turn in a resume." Not only do I have no retail experience whatsoever, but the only job I ever really had was doing hard labor for my grandfather on his ranch. Muscle work.

Besides this, how should I organize a resume for this place? I'm out of high school so do I put 3 years of Spanish on there? Typical stuff like words per minute? I woudn't think so. It's a music store. I have good people skills and a wealth of knowledge on bass equipment thanks to you guys :D , but what else should I put on there?

I've heard that at Guitar Center they look for people with an interest in music (duh) and that's really about it.

I guess a question I should ask you guys is "what does it take?" I would rather work there than anywhere else. I suppose I need to let them know that, but that alone won't get me in.

I appreciate the help guys!

2. bluemonk

bluemonk

Dec 17, 2002
    Michigan
    It's weird that they didn't give you a form to fill out. That's usually how stores make hires. I hope the guy on the phone wasn't giving you the brush-off. I'd go by the store, introduce yourself, and ask to talk to the manager and then ask him/her if they have a form and, if not, what kind of information they'd like included on a resume.

3. FireBug

FireBug

Sep 18, 2005
    Houston