Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Music Theory Class

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous [BG]' started by anotherbassist, Feb 6, 2004.

1. Hey
    Im a freshman in high school, and we just got are course selection sheets and we have a class called music theory. Has anyone ever taken this class or heard anything about it? I would really like to learn theory and Im just wondering if a class would help me out basswise?

2. Jason Carota

Jason Carota Gold Supporting Member

Mar 1, 2002
    Lowell, MA
    A music theory class will definately help you out. If the course is available, then I reccomend you sign up for it. This class won't teach you everything, but it will most likely be a good starting point for your learning.

3. Visirale

Visirale

Mar 23, 2003
    Orlando
    Is it AP or standard? If you're new to music, you'll probably fail AP. If it's standard, go for it. Ap does start at the basics, but it doesn't give you time to catch on if you're new at it.

I'm taking ap theory next year, really looking foward to it.

4. CamMcIntyre

CamMcIntyre

Jun 6, 2000
    USA
    I am currently taking the theory class at my school. For the first year since it's been in existance we have finally gotten it to be a full year course. How much you cover, what you cover, and how it's covered is up to your teacher. My teacher said that technically-our class should be an AP/Honors class except, if it was, it would be forced to be a bit different i think be structured a bit differently.

The main thing that I'm having trouble with so far is the ear training or to be specific melodic dictation. If it's 2 part, i can generally get it after a few tries. If it's 4 part-if i get 2 of 4 bars correct i'm happy. Harmonic dictation isn't overly difficult yet.

Summary: take the class, either this year or next. It will be worth it.