Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Musical Direction band/personal

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous [BG]' started by warwickbass, Aug 22, 2003.

1. warwickbass

warwickbass

Dec 8, 2001
    Minnesota
    Not a rant... just in case it sounds like one.

Ok, im fairly new to the music scene, Ive been playing bass for just over 2 1/2 years now and mainly just as a hobby. Recently I have had the privilege of joining a local band, but it doesn't seem to be going anywhere. Now granted its only been about a month or so, but nothing is getting done. I cant really get anything out of them, I ask them what styles they want to do, what the lyrics are gonna be about in general and so on... and I don't get anything out of them, the singer says we just need to learn how to jam together, it doesn't matter on what, we just need to jam. I can obviously see that that is needed but I cant see jamming on blues when were playing metal. Now my problem is that I know very much what I would like to do both lyrically and musically, but if I tell them.. im just gonna get a bunch of dumbfounded people who didn't get what I just said, or didn't like it, or think we need to focus on other things before we worry about that. I feel a strong need for a plan and some direction, and I take all of this very seriously because im not looking to just have fun, I also want to make this my art and hopefully sometime down the road a source of income, fun is the least of my worries, Id rather be a little more professional. Now they all want to "tour the world" as my guitarist put it, and he's going to music school too, so if he doesn't do music in some way he's screwed, And I haven't seen a thing to suggest he's gone to school, infact he's not very good.. a rhythm guitarist at best.