Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Musical Experience

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by Cat, Jul 18, 2001.

What is your musical background?

Poll closed Aug 1, 2001.
  1. Self taught, bass only

13 vote(s)
    28.3%
  2. Self taught, started with different instrument

10 vote(s)
    21.7%
  3. Taught by teacher, bass only

8 vote(s)
    17.4%
  4. Taught by teacher, different instrument first

15 vote(s)
    32.6%
  1. Cat

Cat

Apr 5, 2000
    Penn State
    as requested:

I played baritone saxophone for 12 years (all thru primary education) but gave it up since I didn't own one and they are expensive as **** (around $4000 for a good one)! I really liked our jazz band's bass player, he was awesome. I also really like bass sound in general (hence baritone sax ;) ) so I started bass guitar. That was about 2.5 years ago, and I'm still going strong! I just need a band to play in now!

2. I taught myself bass two years ago, but I had formal training on piano starting when I was 7, although I quit that later, learned guitar from my dad when I was 10 and got lessons later for that, although I quit lessons later and just play on my own now, and tenor saxophone in school band. I also taught myself accordian (but not well), harmonica, and jaw harp. But bass is the one I got into the most.

3. melvin

melvin

Apr 28, 2001
    I started on trumpet four years ago and then after two years of that I started playing bass (I still play trumpet) then this year Im starting to play trombone, manely because I like the lower notes rather than the high ones.

4. Traveler

Traveler

Jun 26, 2001
    Greenwood, AR.
    Hey man, I love Bari Sax!!!!!!!!! I play too!!!!!!!!

That and Tenor. Alto is all right, I dont own one. But I cannot stand Soprano Sax. I even dislike Kenny G!!!!!!!!!!

Bari Sax OwNS.

5. purple_haze

purple_haze

Jun 29, 2001
    London Town