Musical Integrity

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous [BG]' started by Gabu, Feb 7, 2003.

1. Yes, if the same suggestion kept coming in I would do it.

2 vote(s)
  2. Maybe, I would definately try it out and decide for myself if I liked it.

30 vote(s)
  3. I doubt it, I would listen to them... Maybe think on it a bit... But Hell, I wrote this shi-ite!

6 vote(s)
  4. No way!! I am an artist! The way I wrote it, is the way it is!

3 vote(s)
  1. Gabu

Jan 2, 2001
    Woodland Hills, CA
    When your songs or music gets criticised, and I mean a good type of criticism not mean spirited, how much do you listen to it? Would you alter your tunes if enough suggestions rolled in to? Or would you stand fast, true to your art, as it was concieved?
  2. if i tried it out and it improves the song, i probably would. what i don't like is when my singer tried to change the lyric's i wrote for one of our songs:mad: grrr...
    if the criticism makes sense, and it comes from some one who i know knows what they're talkin' about, i'd think about it. if i tried it, and i liked it, i'd go for it.
    but only with reasonable suggestions, not stuff like "you guys should play some country"
  3. moley

Sep 5, 2002
    Hampshire, UK
    I'd try it out, see if I like it - what harm can it do? But ultimately, it's my decision, and if everyone is telling me to change it, but I still feel that it shouldn't be changed, I won't change it.
  4. CS

Dec 11, 1999
    My music/lyrics are fairly unconventional so it polarises people into ones that hate it or ones that love it. Also my stuff (through a long and boring story generally) gets listened by people who are mainly friends and musicians.

I think that when it comes to criticism about anything the questions to ask yourself are...

Do I care what this person thinks?

Do I trust their judgement?

What is their motivation?