Musical Leap

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by The Mole, Apr 27, 2001.

1. Hi everyone,

I am a young musician of 15, currently playing two very different instruments to that of the bass guitar (saxophone and clarinet). I learnt them from an early age and enjoy playing them, but I feel I should expand my musical horizon to different areas.
    Ever since I listened to Metallica about a year ago, my views on music have changed. I am deeply intrigued by this genre of music now, and can't stand arrogant people who consider it to be a “racket” or a “din”. This music is extremely skillful, and I appreciate it much more than I used to. I especially enjoy listening to the bass guitar lines, simply because they are so smooth and mellow. This is why I have become interested in learning the instrument. Another reason why I wish to learn it is because my friend plays the guitar, and it would be cool to jam with him =)
    For saxophone and clarinet, I am about grade 5 standard. I am also doing GCSE music which will then go onto A level music (I am from the UK so if your not sure what these mean I’m sorry, lol), therefore I have a good knowledge of music. I have been looking at bass guitar tabbing and I can follow it along with the music fine. The actual playing of the guitar will be a big change for me, which I’m slightly worried about. I am also unsure of what equipment to buy.
    Please give me any advice you can, I will be very grateful (such as is this whole idea very wise, lol).

Thanks for reading =)
  2. rickbass

rickbass Supporting Member

Mole -Welcome to TalkBass. Hope you find it rates your further involvement.

I am not a dealer, just someone who has been playing since the Beatles first came to the US and showed up on The Ed Sullivan Show.