Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Musical Theory: Where should I start?

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by Mike O'Neill, Nov 14, 2005.

1. Hey there, I'm a new bassist (been playing for about a week) and I've decided that I want to learn musical theory, so that later on I can become a good bassist with an advanced/well practiced technique.

I can read music, as I learnt it when I played Tuba in my school orchestra, but I wasn't taught any musical theory apart from the rather simplistic "Minor Keys sound sad and Major Keys sound happy" (GCSE Music). The most I understand is the idea of a Root, 3rd and 5th, but only because I can 'see' them stacked on the staff forming a triad.

I tried reading through Pacman's Surefire Scale Method, but I became disheartened when I realised that I didn't understand most of it.

Sorry for rambling on, but I'm really confused as to where I should start/what I should do. Any suggestions/advice greatly appreciated. :)

2. Scot

Scot Supporting Member

Mar 20, 2004
    Pacifica, CA, USA
    Hi Mike,

I'm not sure what your goals are with playing bass and what kind of music you want to play and all that but I'll try to jump in with a couple of suggestions that hopefully will get you running in the right directions.

It's great that you've already been playing tuba and can read music notation in bass clef. Also, the function the tuba plays is the same as the bass so you've already got the "bass player mindset". :)