Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Musician. Resume killer?

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous [BG]' started by Bryan_G, Sep 20, 2005.

1. Bryan_G

Bryan_G

Apr 28, 2000
    Austin, Texas
    I am currently a college student, looking for an internship next summer. I don't have any professional work experience.

I see on the resume guides that as a college student you should list just about anything you have done. I am currently in three bands and making part time money playing music. I am afraid that since I am entering a professional field, computer science, that listing musician on my resume will actually hurt me. I know there are a lot of cs/eng part time bassists on this board. What do you guys think?

I know from experience that being a musician is not all fun and games, but I don't think job holders will think that. Am I wrong?

-Bryan

2. DaftCat

DaftCat

Jul 26, 2004
    Medicine Hat
    I dont think so. Mention things you do in the band. Arrange bookings(scheduling), oversee rehearsals(time management), hire/fire guitar players(HR), repairing equipment(breakfix).

Hope this helps,

3. I was a CS major and worked in the IT field the last 10 years in a few sysadmin and IT manager jobs. I always looked for mention of involvement in any of the arts on the resumes of potential hires, it was a good sign of a well-rounded lifestyle. Just don't try to hype it as professional experience, it could be seen as obvious padding.

--bob

4. westland

westland

Oct 8, 2004
    Hong Kong
    +1

And where you can, use it to support your story about why the interviewing company needs your experience. Talk about the challenges of the music business, and how you overcame them. Play up your people skills.