Musicman growl on a budget.

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by Moustachio, Jan 23, 2009.

1. Moustachio

Moustachio

Jan 23, 2009
    Hey everyone,

Long time lurker,first time poster here.

I started playing bass around a year ago and was teaching myself up until two months ago and my first bass just isn't cutting it anymore, it's an Ibanez G2R200FM with a P/J pickup configuration and I'm just not satisfied with the sound it produces, I have a decent amp (Fender Rumble 60) and I want to become more serious with my playing, to do that I feel like I need a bass that fits my musical tastes. Right now I enjoy listening to and playing a lot of classical and rock as well as classic metal, think Audioslave, Megadeth, The Who.

When I first went into my local music store and bought the GSR I also tried out a Stingray for the hell of it, and It blew me away, Unfortunately I won't be able to afford the 1,400$ price tag for quite sometime.

I'm looking for a bass under 600$ that will give me a similar tone. I will be test driving any bass suggested before I buy, I just want to get an idea of what brands or models would be best before I start looking.

Thanks.

2. JAUQO III-X

JAUQO III-X Inactive

Jan 4, 2002
    CHICAGO,IL.
    Endorsing artist:see profile.
  3. Ibanez ATK.

[​IMG]

note the triple-coil pickup in the (general) EBMM position.

4. rapturebass

rapturebass

Dec 6, 2008
    Connecticut
    Schecter Baron-H? the bass is crazy Punchy.

5. NorCal Dog

NorCal Dog

Nov 28, 2005
    415/707
    Fernandes Atlas / Nordstrand MM4.2 / Aguilar OBP1

pretty much nails it

DSCF0133.jpg

6. LeftHandedFrog

LeftHandedFrog

Dec 29, 2008
    Copenhagen
    Used G&L L1500

7. wvbass

wvbass Supporting Member

Mar 1, 2004
    West Virginia
    Might wait for the Sterlings by MusicMan to become available. I think they're more than just a rumor.

8. Moustachio

Moustachio

Jan 23, 2009