1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Musicman Sterling - The Rodney Dangerfield of basses?

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by lynott-forever, May 8, 2010.

1. lynott-forever

lynott-forever

Oct 29, 2009
    Canada
    Hey gang. I just picked up from the post office yesterday a Musicman Sterling 4HS that I bought out of the classifieds on TB. It's my first time playing a Musicman of any type and I have to say I really am into it. It handles like a dream. I know the Stingray gets alot of well deserved recognition, but the Sterling seems to be living in it's shadow. It deserves a little more respect IMO.

Any thoughts?

2. JimB52

JimB52 User Supporting Member

May 24, 2007
    East Coast
    Love the feel, but I think they sound a little thin compared to the Stingray. That's why I got a H/S Sterling.

3. MikeyB

MikeyB

Aug 16, 2006
    Sykesville, MD
    I have a Sterling and a Stingray SLO.

The Sterling has great tone and brings a lot of grunt, but IMO it just lacks a little in the "looks" department. Yup, I know, silly. I much prefer the look of the Stingray and the ironic thing is that most people can't tell them apart.

4. TechJunky

TechJunky

Aug 31, 2009
    Columbus, OH
    I think the Sterling's do get plenty of respect. While they may not be as popular as the Stingray, I rarely hear anything negative about them. They play great and sound fantastic. I personally prefer the Stingray because I like the wider neck and bigger body (I'm decently tall and pretty large, so the Sterling just looks awkward on me. The Stingray looks more normal and feel more comfortable), but I also wouldn't mind having the Sterling's electronics in a Stingray body, cause I love the sound of them.

5. lynott-forever

lynott-forever

Oct 29, 2009
    Canada
    The Stingray is definetly a beauty, like the girl that Scott Howard goes bowling with in Teen Wolf.