1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Musicman vs Rickenbacker (sp?) + HI ALL!

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by chilimagik, Mar 7, 2008.

1. chilimagik

chilimagik

Mar 7, 2008
    Hi all! Firstly im new to this awsome site so I hope im welcome in this thriving community.
    I've been playing bass for near 3 years and im an ok player but desperate to improve my skills.
    My first bass was a stagg (£100 with my FatRat 30w amp - which i still use today)
    After a year i traded that stagg in for a Washburn xb500 (Discontinued) and have since redone the action and made it fretless. Also i've changed the strings to go EADGC rather than the standard BEADG using Nickel Wound strings.

Anyhoo enough about my rig and more onto what this is all about.

Im desperate for a Music Man Stingray. Wanted one ever since I played one in Curly's in Liverpool, UK.

Firstly: Whats the difference between the EQ2 and EQ3 apart from about £150? I've only played the EQ2.

Secondly i've been advised to buy a Rickenbacker. Roughly the same price but I can't actually handle one coz no were near where I live deals in them. Its an order in or internet job it seems :(

Can I please get some advice. I will be buying one at the end of summer :)

Many thanks in advance,

Mike

2. danomar

danomar

Dec 8, 2007
    Atlanta
    Welcome to the forum!

I know a little about both Stingrays and Ricks. :)

I would have to give the nod to Rickenbacker 4001/3's for versatility. You can get a very wide range of tone from a Rick. On the other hand, nothing really sounds like a Stingray. There is the unique midrange growl and low-end punch they get that very few basses can match.