Must have effects??

Discussion in 'Effects [BG]' started by Pöl, Dec 7, 2003.

1. Pöl

May 31, 2003
    So I'm into effects lately, i'm new at this...

What type of effects should definately be in my pedalboard?
  2. tplyons

Apr 6, 2003
    Madison, NJ
    I'll recommend some cheaper effects:

Gotta love wahs: check out Crybabies and Morleys.

For distortion/fuzz/overdrive: I have to recommend a Big Muff Pi, but Boss ODB-3's are good for the money.

And you gotta love the subtle effect of a Boss BF-2 Flanger!

(I think I just recommended that you buy my entire pedalboard :p)
  3. is there a major difference between the bf2 and the bf-2b?
  4. tplyons

Apr 6, 2003
    Madison, NJ
    The BF-2B is the bass version of the BF-2. It's brown instead of purple, says Bass Flanger but the sound is comparable. The BF-2B doesn't flange the low end to avoid a muddy sound, but when I played the bass version I hardly noticed a difference. I've found that the BF-2B is more used by guitarists, and most bassists use the BF-2. Wierd.

BOSS actually just came out with a BF-3 which has two more modes and seperate bass/guitar inputs. Has stereo outputs as well.
  5. i already bought the bf 2b when i had a little money in my pocket and saw it in a used shop
    i was just wondering because it seemed a little weak. no one can ever tell me what the manual knob does, whats up with that?