Mustang bass--do they come with a high string action?

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by rpt50, Jun 11, 2021.

1. rpt50

rpt50

Jan 10, 2021
    I'm relatively new to bass and thinking about buying a Mustang. Like everything else, they are in short supply, but the ones of have played (even a couple of American models) have relatively higher action than what I've become accustomed to with my G&L tribute and my Ibanez Mikro. Is this a Mustang thing (or a Fender thing), or have I just not found the right example yet. Is a set-up all it needs? I like the sound and feel of the Mustangs I have played, but I don't want to buy something that is more difficult to play, as my wimpy guitar hands are already suffering a bit from the switch to bass.

DC in ATX and JRA like this.
  2. seedokebass

seedokebass

Mar 21, 2009
    Minnesota
    I haven't played many but I'd chalk it up to poor setup. I take it your current basses have lower action and you're comfortable with them?

3. sleddogn

sleddogn

Sep 8, 2013
    all good don't worry, just bad setups. I've owned over 10 mustangs in my life, and this wasn't an issue at all...

Rabidhamster and kjp360 like this.
  4. godofthunder59

godofthunder59 God of Thunder and Rock and Roll Supporting Member

Feb 19, 2006
    Rochester NY USA
    Endorsing Cataldo Basses, Whirlwind products, Thunderbucker pickups
    The notorious factory set up. Basses are shipped from points all over the globe, travel and weather play havoc with wooden instruments. A good setup take care of your problems. Mustangs like most short scale basses are very easy to play.

5. JRA

JRA my words = opinion Supporting Member

no doubt! ;)

no off-the-rack (or out-of-the-box) ax is set up for a specific player --- except by luck! (the same would be true of guitars.)

Plain Old Barry, 707GK and kjp360 like this.
  6. kjp360

kjp360

Feb 11, 2014