1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Mustang PJ Bass Pickup Upgrade - Seymour Duncan QP set?

Discussion in 'Pickups & Electronics [BG]' started by 534N, Mar 1, 2019.

1. Hello, I’m new to TB and this is my first post. Hopefully I’m not asking something that has been covered a lot since I tried searching first..

Anyway, I want to upgrade the pickups on my Mustang PJ bass since they sound like they could use a bit more punch. I saw many mentions of Seymour Duncan Quarter Pounders as go-to pups all over the ‘net so I was excited to go out to my local music store and buy some. But when I got home, I thought more about my decision (how foolish, I know) and I looked at more reviews and things I could find online. Seems the SD QPs get an equal amount of love and hate and it worries me a bit since I was just about to install them. Many people report that they sound zingy and clanky, which isn’t really my style since I prefer a warmer punch. I watched some videos and this idea was confirmed somewhat, but I only saw them installed on full scale basses.

I saw someone mentioned that short scale basses already have a midrange spike because of their size, so maybe it counteracts the negative midrange “scoop” that reportedly happens with the QP’s. I haven’t seen or heard anything about installing the full QP set on a PJ ‘Stang yet, so I wanted to ask if anyone has done it with good results. If so, what are your thoughts about it? Do you have any complaints? Any sound samples you could share? Are they better than the stock pickups?

I’ve seen some pictures of Mustangs with the precision (neck) QP but not a full set. Is it a good idea or should I try to go back and exchange for something else at the music store?