Mustang pj for slap?

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by andfra, Aug 19, 2017.

1. andfra

andfra

Aug 18, 2017
    hi, i mainly a guitarplayer and trying to get into the bass-jungle.
    I've been listen a alot to slapbass and my question is:

I want to slap, and the j-style basses sound better in that aspect.
    Can i dial in a good slaptone in the new mustang pj fender basses with the bridge pickup option?

2. I don't see why not. Most of us go for a scooped tone when we slap, that helps a lot. I would expect a decent, punchy slap tone from a PJ, but I'm not an expert on that particular bass.

3. nostatic

nostatic Supporting Member

Jun 18, 2004
    Lompoc, CA
    Endorsing Artist: FEA Labs
    Slaps just fine. A PJ doesn't sound exactly like a JJ though, plus the Mustang is 30" scale. But it works for me - I'm a PJ guy anyway...

4. andfra

andfra

Aug 18, 2017
    so there will be almost no difference between j and pj mustang?

5. Dr. Cheese

Dr. Cheese Gold Supporting Member

Mar 3, 2004
    Metro St. Louis
    There is a difference. Conventional PJ basses are much more mid focused than Jazz basses, and that results in a different slap tone. Reversed PJ basses like Sandburg or the old Yamaha BB2000 are closer to a Jazz in tone. Here is a clip of me slapping a Mustang PJ:

6. Stephen Hurley

Stephen Hurley Supporting Member

Jul 6, 2015
    Alexandria,La
    You can get a great slap tone out of the PJ Mustangs. Jazz would be ideal for slapping but the Pj is the only short scale I've ever played that's slappable. It doesn't really sound like a short scale honestly. It's got that great fender tone. Hope this helps :)

dralionux likes this.
  7. BusyFingers

BusyFingers

Nov 26, 2016