Muting 'Exercises'?

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by Mike O'Neill, Nov 6, 2005.

1. Hey there, I'm a new bassist (My fourth day of having the instrument), although not an entire novice musically (Did once play the tuba - Surprisingly helpful when it comes to reading the bass clef :D ). I really need to practice my muting. Are there any specific exercises you can do either on or off the bass to help with muting?

And on a seperate note, what should I be practicing as a complete novice on Bass? At the moment I'm doing basic scales and desperately trying to build up stamina in my plucking hand for rhythym and timing. Any other suggestions?

Thanks in advance :)
  2. String crossing exercises are great for practicing muting.
  3. Thanks for the reply, I'll look some up. :)

At the moment I'm practicing a simple Blues number from the Tutorial CD/Book that came with my Bass. I've found that the Chord Progressions are good for practicing muting.

Another unrelated question: how can you build up strength in your little finger? I've tried practicing a bassline where you have to hold down the D and G string together, but when I pluck them I get a lot of 'rattle' from them.

Any help appreciated. :D
  4. AGCurry

Jun 29, 2005
    Kansas City
    I don't think I've ever practiced muting. It's just something I learned to do while playing.

Muting has three purposes: 1) to control the duration of notes, 2) to prevent sympathetic or unintended vibrations, and 3) to prevent unwanted harmonics.

Muting can be done with both hands.

Unless you CAN find some muting exercises described somewhere, my advice is simply to incorporate it while doing your usual practice/playing regimen.
  5. Well I have noticed that after a few days of playing I'm beginning to mute the E string with my thumb. I'll probably mute the other strings with my left hand.

Thanks for the advice. :)
  6. EricF

EricF Habitual User

Sep 26, 2005
    Pasadena, CA