Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

muting strings when going lower in notes

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by airrick, Dec 29, 2005.

1. airrick

airrick

Dec 4, 2005
    ok, i am a noob.
    Q- I know about how to mute strings when moving higher notewise, but i was looking in my "book" and it showed a piece, and it said to use my left hand to mute the strings. This is not very specific, could somesone shed some light on how exactly to do this?

2. Figjam

Figjam

Aug 5, 2003
    Boston, MA
    Usually you just use whatever fingers you arent currently playing with to mute the strings. Eventualy muting becomes second nature.

But basically what i do is just use the non active finger to gently touch the strings im not playing. Often my middle finger is used.

3. I find it easier muting with the right side of my right palm when playing low but I don't know if it's a bad muting technique or not. Maybe it's just preference because right now I suck at muting with my left hand. :meh:

4. Christopher

Christopher

Apr 28, 2000
    New York, NY
    If you're playing the E or A string, your left hand fretting fingers will be over the D and G (and A) strings. Flatten those fingers out slightly to keep the higher strings from ringing.

5. Joe P

Joe P

Jul 15, 2004
    Milwaukee, WI
    Yup. I usually use 'left-hand slop' to mute strings that are physically below the string I'm playing, and the right-hand thumb to mute the ones physically above.

It's way-worth-it to learn 'floating thumb' right-hand muting method.

Joe

6. adisu

adisu I admit it, I'm a "user"

Apr 8, 2005
    Israel
    +1

I just bought a 6 strings BG and I had to learn how to float with my thumb (on the 4 strings i moved only between the E and pickup).
    I started to float my thumb a month ago (or even less).