Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Muting technique

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by mikeboth, Jun 25, 2002.

1. mikeboth

mikeboth The last thing you'll ever see

Jun 14, 2002
    Tallinn, Estonia
    Operator: prophecysound systems
    Hi All

My first TB post so go easy on me.;)

Some background - I'm getting back into bass after a 10 year layoff and have immediatly run into a weakness in my technique I had before. When playing lines across the neck (from E -> A -> D -> G) I often end up with the open strings ringing after I've removed my LH fingers from the frets. I pluck using fingers, am completely self-taught and - yes- intend to have lessons covering my specific problems soon but am interested in ideas on what works for others.

So my question is - is muting best done by careful removal of LH fingers or with right hand (plucking hand) motion? I have tried the 'floating' plucking hand technique but find the 'thumb anchored to pickup' more reliable and less stressful on my fingers / wrist / arm (important as already have wrist problems from excessive mouse use / guitar / keyboards playing)

Cheers

MikeB

2. boomerang

boomerang Guest

Dec 9, 2001
    Canada
    if im moving up from g-d or so, the left hand will mute those previously played strings.. if im moving down from e-a or so, the right hand mutes em. dont really think about it, just happens. WIth the floating thumb thing.. just float it on there for a second to dampen them. try it out, goodluck.

3. mikeboth

mikeboth The last thing you'll ever see

Jun 14, 2002
    Tallinn, Estonia
    Operator: prophecysound systems