MXR analog chorus vs bass chorus deluxe - comparisons?

Discussion in 'Effects [BG]' started by Scott Lynch, Sep 5, 2016.

1. Scott Lynch

Scott Lynch Supporting Member

Nov 27, 2002
    Delaware, USA
    I am looking for a quality yet straightforward, simple mod pedal for my board. Anyone had a chance to compare these two pedals? I played through an analog chorus at the store recently and liked it quite a bit. The EQ controls on the chorus already seem to make it pretty bass friendly.

I have no experience, however, with the bass chorus deluxe. Despite the fact that MXR created a bass specific model I still see the analog chorus on some bassists boards. Curious about that!

Last edited: Sep 5, 2016
    Spaceman Ian likes this.
  2. Spaceman Ian

Spaceman Ian MAY THE FORCE BE WITH YOU Supporting Member

Jun 15, 2012
    Baltimore, Md
    I've owned both, analog chorus was the obvious winner for me.

I didn't care for the bass chorus deluxe, wasn't feeling the sound.

The analog chorus sounds great. My main gig these days is an agency/event band; top 40 from the 50s to present day. I'm using the MXR on all the 80s Rock stuff (that has chorus on the record)

On other gigs where I may be soloing or playing some chordal stuff, the blend knob is fantastic. I can bring a little more "something" to my pbass tone without having over the top chorus effect...

Just my opinion/experience of course :)

3. Scott Lynch

Nov 27, 2002
    Delaware, USA
    Nice. I was intrigued by the analog chorus after seeing it on your board, Ian. I think I will pick one up and give it a shot. Thanks!

Spaceman Ian likes this.
  4. mapleglo

mapleglo Gold Supporting Member

Sep 7, 2013
    phoenix, az
    I have both.

2lmw181.jpg