1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Mxr m80 review

Discussion in 'Effects [BG]' started by Mattbass97, Jul 8, 2012.

1. Mattbass97

Mattbass97

Apr 9, 2011
    I recently bought an mxr m80 for £95 brand new off basschat in the UK and wow am I happy! Within 5 minutes of plugging it in I found my perfect sound that I've been searching for ever since I started playing bass, I kid you not. The construction is absolutely second to none it's brilliant I can see it lasting a long long time. People said they've had problems with the battery compartment being cheap and Breaking well I purposely forced mine a bit and it's sturdy just like the one off a 105q bass wah and I've had no problems with either!

Now the eq on this is simple and effective, 3 knobs bass, mid, treble. It is great sounding and super easy to get a great/fantastic sound!! The colour switch is a thing of dreams, a bass and treble boost with a certain selected mid freq creates a perfect boost and punch with clarity that just blows me away! The distortion channel is not crap as I've heard many people say. It can go from tubey overdrive to blown out distortion that stays full and juicy no matter what. The combination of the eq and the distortion give a huge amount of different sounds to gain. This pedal can do so much in terms of finding YOUR sound. I personally find it a million times better than an eq with freq bands as mxr/Dunlop have used really great freq selections in this pedal and I adore them for that haha. I haven't had time to try out the di out but I'm sure it will be amazing.