1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

My 1st set of flats, ever.... aka Why didn't I do this sooner?

Discussion in 'Strings [BG]' started by Clark W, May 12, 2019.

1. Clark W

Clark W Supporting Member

Aug 26, 2018
    Got my first set of flats, ever, today, but first a little background on what I have been using.

I started learning to play bass around age 11, way back in 1977. All I have ever used on a regular basis has been Ernie Ball Slinky (nickel wound) sets with a set of GHS Boomers thrown in there a time or two.

In 2001 I got married and well, bass playing, along with my Carvin LB70, went out the window, soon to be followed by the marriage in short order. Over a decade later in early 2016 I traded a Peavey 1820 cab for a Cort Curbow Signature Series bass. I immediately put a set of Ernie Ball strings on it and started playing again, for the first time since late 2002, early 2003.

Fast forward to August 2018. I started gigging with the Cort and decided I had to have something better and bought a brand new Ibanez SR400EQM strung with D'Addario XL nickel wounds.

Then two weeks ago I bought an old Epiphone P Bass ($65) with crap pups and electronics. Replaced all that with EMG GZRs. And put on a set of DR Black Beauties. They sound a little "tinny" to me, but with a little wear that will probably work itself out.

Then a week ago I bought a 2012 Ibanez SRX2EX2, again like other Ibbys, it had nickel wound D'Addario XLs. I have absolutely fell in love with this bass, but the strings are a little worn so I decided to experiment and go with "flats" which brings us to today...