1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

My 5-string Cocobolo bass project

Discussion in 'Luthier's Corner' started by Florida Jim, May 11, 2008.

1. Florida Jim

Florida Jim

May 9, 2008
    Greetings! I'm very glad to have found this forum, I will surely enjoy reading about all things bass, and I hope to learn a lot.

I played bass in bands in the past, and now that I'm nearing retirement, I hope to play again, in a casual beach band, or something. I've built a few guitars and basses before, so I have decided to build myself a 5-string bass out of solid Cocobolo wood. I know that the dust can irritate some people, so I always use an activated charcoal breathing mask when working it. And, glueing it up can be a problem, so I've been reading about that here; wipe the glue edges with acetone first, etc. This is more of a hobby for me, I'm not a pro luthier, so please feel free to give me ANY advice, on the best setup for the truss rod, tips on shaping the thing down, to what pickups to use. And now, some pics;

Here's the parts roughed out.

[​IMG]

Now pushed together just for the picture.

[​IMG]

A side view. The wood sometimes looks light when freshly cut, but will darken to rich brown all over in time.

[​IMG]

With the Madigascar ebony fingerboard blank.

[​IMG]

A close up.

[​IMG]

I will be looking for help/comments on this project, and will post pictures as I progress on it. Talk to everyone later! Jim

2. scottyd

scottyd Commercial User

Nov 17, 2006
    Waco Tx
    Builder/owner Redeemer Basses
    Thats the lightest colored cocobolo I've ever seen! You've got to post the weight of that thing when its complete.

3. Florida Jim

Florida Jim

May 9, 2008