my 5 strng whats a good rule?

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by ampegloud, Oct 14, 2002.

1. ampegloud

ampegloud Guest

Oct 14, 2002
    kansas city mo
    getting a 5 string thur.any rules of thumb on playing? played a 4 for 8 years.
  2. Ryan L.

Ryan L. Moderator Staff Member Supporting Member

Aug 7, 2000
    West Fargo, ND
    Probably more of a Technique thread.

3. Well I started playing 5's about 5 years ago after a 5 yr hiatus form playing bass. I would run the cycle of fourths/fifths over your neck, above and below the 12th fret to get used to it. Just don't over do the low B string.
  4. rickbass

rickbass Supporting Member

Not a "rule," just something I found that works for me;

I anchor my thumb against the B. As pedulla says, you don't want to overdo it and anchoring there helps to serve as a reminder.

But more importantly, for me anyway, it eliminates the crosstalk of the B because my technique makes it resonate a lot if I leave it free to do so.......just in case you find the same thing.
  5. I switched from a four string to a fiver about two and a half months ago. I was really concerned that I might have difficulty adjusting, but caught on to it rather easily. The main adjustment I had to make was how I anchored my thumb. On the four, I always used the neck pickup as a thumb rest. When I started the five, I instinctively started in the same manner as the four, but immediately discoveverd that the reach across all five strings wasn't going to work very well. I now rest my thumb on the strings, primarily the "B" and "E" strings, backing my thumb off when I want to use the "B" and "E". The reach is less to the higher strings and my muting technique is much better. As far as holding back on the usage of the "B" string, I find that I frequently use the "D" on the Low-B, but use the C# and lower only occasionally. I have not regretted changing to a five.
  6. ampegloud

ampegloud Guest

Oct 14, 2002
    kansas city mo