My 5 versus 4 string dilemna ...first gig

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by basscentric, Mar 19, 2005.

1. basscentric

Feb 22, 2005
    I have been playing in a jazz/funk/blues jam trio for three months now. Two months ago I bought a Peavey Millenium 5 Plus 5-string. I think it cuts through better than my PRS 4 string when playing with the band.

Here's my problem... for the most part my transition to the 5 string has been pretty good but sometimes i find myself fumbling to find the right string, not often but it does happen. My first ever gig is in 4 weeks. I'm thinking of playing the 4-string as im much more proficient on it and would like to do as much as possible to control my nerves. I would bring the 5 - string as a backup.

Does anyone have any experience to share or thoughts?
  2. icks

Jul 12, 2001
    Charleroi, Belgium
    take both bass, one as backup.

But use the one you feel more confortable with, I presume the 4's.

If you don't need the low B ...
  3. Frank Martin

Frank Martin Bitten by the luthiery bug...

Oct 8, 2001
    Budapest, Hungary, EU
    I think you should practice exclusively on the 5 in the upcoming month, and take the 5 to the gig. 4 weeks is a lot of time, hopefully enough to get even more familiar with a bass you already have for two months.

Or another approach: restring your 5 as EADGC, and you'll have no problems mistaking the B for the E.
  4. Ostur

Dec 21, 2004
    take one or the other,in my experience its a sure thing to mess up under stress,maybe if I was a better player?but I have found its better to just take the one you are the most comfortable with on the first few gigs,I use a 5 the most,most of the time I don't use the B string much, but its a consistant thumb rest for the other 4 strings,it may sound stupid but it works for me.
  5. Fliptrique

Jul 22, 2002
    Szczecin, Poland
    Endorsing Artist: Mayones Guitars&Basses, Taurus Amplification

6. JOME77

JOME77 Supporting Member

Aug 18, 2002