1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

My amp is getting unreliable. Need help picking out a new one. Specific details inside

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by BCB75, Jan 19, 2018.

1. BCB75

BCB75

Dec 20, 2017
    Hey guys! A little background... OK, a ton of background. Skip a couple paragraphs if you don't care. I have been playing guitar for about 15 years, and bass for maybe 7. I was and still am a huge gear nerd when it comes to guitars, guitar amps, and bass guitars. I never really got into bass amps/tones though. I was only really into playing. I had a cheap rumble combo for the longest time and it worked fine. Then my bands got more serious and I just used a friends 70s SVT w/ 810 that was at our shared space. Finally got myself an SVT3 non-pro (cheap, nowhere near as good as the vintage tube one) and I scored a Bergantino 310 for dirt cheap on Craigslist.

The SVT was alright, but I am far from an expert on bass tone like I am with guitar tone. Our band has changed over time, we now use a much lower tuning, and the SVT3 was having trouble being loud enough. My drummer found (legitimately, just found it) a Trace Elliot GP7 head and it killed my SVT. So I found myself another Craigslist steal and got a GP12SMX. Thing sounds awesome, and I love the footswitchable graphic EQ that I can enable for a more cutting tone for leads. It's starting to not always start up properly and requires some powr cycling and smacking/punching to get started up. Once it gets going, its good. But this just won't cut it long term, especially with an expensive studio session upcoming.

OK so on to my needs!