My band - I'm just not feeling the love...

Discussion in 'Band Management [BG]' started by Forgetful Jones, Aug 8, 2005.

1. Hey folks :)

I'm in a cover-band at the moment, as well as an original songwriting/recording project (I don't play bass in that one).

I've done the covers thing before, up to 4 nights a week a few years ago. After a long-ish break, I was enticed back into the fold, and after a long rehearsal/gestation, we've started playing gigs again.

The problem is simple: I'm not having any fun. I don't look forward to rehearsals, I don't look forward to gigs! Prt of the problem is my day job I think - I quit full time work and went back to university to complete my degree a year or so back, so I'm studying 4 days, and working on the weekend to pay the bills... so time is at a premium, and most gigs are Fridays and Saturdays, so we finish up and load out at around 2:30am, and I have to be at work by 9, which means a maximum of 5 hours sleep by the time I factor in travel.

I usually enjoy the gigs once I get there and get playing, but even that is starting to become a drag - i'm just irritable. The guitarist will ad-lib a part that should really be played verbatim, the drummer will speed up or slow down and lose the groove (only slightly - he's a pretty good player, just standard "gig tempo" stuff) and I know that these are not huge issues - hell, I make my share of mistakes too - yet I get very very annoyed about this stuff.

Ultimately I think I have too much on my plate. Study, job, the original music (I'm currently trying to lay down keyboard tracks at home, but it's hard to steal enough time), learning new covers, rehearsing, and trying to maintain some modicum of a normal social life (My girlfriend really only sees me when we happen to be at home at the same time... and that is not a situation I'm remotely satisfied with). Something's gotta give, and... well... the covers are looking like the chopping block candidate.