My band just fell apart (long)

Discussion in 'Bass Humor & Gig Stories [BG]' started by matt326, Jun 1, 2005.

1. I've been playing with a group of local guys since August of 2004 along with my brother who is/was the drummer. We were doing OK, but, you guessed it, a battle of egos turned the whole mess on its ear. The most experienced musicians in the group were our guitarist, the drummer, and me. I say that because, while we were assembling the group, the three of us wrote and arranged our music together and got along great. To make a long story short, we located a vocalist and keyboardist, spent a lot of time rehearsing, came up with a very good sound, and then it all fell to pieces after 2 shows. The guitarist stopped listening to ideas from my brother and me, and took on a "that's the way it is, deal with it" attitude. The group dynamic changed as well, with the vocalist and keys player backing the guitar player on every point even when the sound suffered. The inevitable happened last Friday; an argument broke out between my brother and the other three guys and he was kicked out. I've been trying to play mediator for this group because I'm the oldest, most professional, and (dare I say it) smartest member. I think I have had enough of this; high school was a LONG time ago and I can't stand the duelling attitudes any longer. Anyone looking for a relatively good bassist who hates drama? Thanks for listening and I apologize for the length; just had to get it off my chest.
  2. Sorry to hear of your situation, but as many others would agree, what you described is more likely to happen than good chemistry amongst band members.

I've been playing for over three decades and have seen more than a few similar situations...and it often seems that the bass player, due to the nature of being "the foundation," ends up being a mediator.