1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

My bass abuses me, I'm in an abusive relationship.

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by Fro0d, May 8, 2006.

1. Fro0d

Fro0d

May 7, 2006
    I am fairly new to the world of bass. I got one for christmas, and have picked up fairly quickly (I think:eyebrow: ).

While I play, I find I have to take a quick break because my left thumb(the one on the fretboard) hurts too much, rather than what I figured would hurt: the fingers.

Is this normal for everyone? Is it just my playing technique? Is everyone different? Do you have any suggestions to lesson or get rid of this problem? :confused: :confused: :confused:

On a side note, who knows any good TAB sites other than www.bassmasta.net or www.ultimate-guitar.com ?

Thanks for your time, it is much appreciated!

2. Toasted

Toasted

May 26, 2003
    Leeds, UK
    Its technique. Either you're pressing your thumb into the back of the neck and thats why its hurting, or your bass is too low slung, and you need to shorten your strap.

3. And on a side note, you should learn standard notation. It's not as hard as it wold seem. Congrats on playing bass, it will be long and painfull, years from now you will look back and realize how much time you poured into this that could have been spent on other things. And the great part is, you wont care.

end prophesey

4. canopener

canopener

Sep 15, 2003
    Isle of Lucy
    It could also be your hands getting used to playing bass. But pay close attention to Toasted's suggestions.
    Even if it is just reading chord charts. It gets easier from there.

5. What are you doing with your left hand? Are you pressing with the tip of your thumb, or the pad?

6. andrewd

andrewd

Sep 5, 2003