Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

My bass altering adventure (with pic)

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by Brilliant Fool, Oct 20, 2003.

1. Ok, here's the deal - I have a squier (yech, I know) 5 string which was recently converted to fretless. It played, and sounded, fine but I had a problem with the action: it was too high! Even when the saddles were riding the bridge, the action was at least 1/4"-1/2" (just guestimating) off of the fretboard.

I gave it a lot of thought, and I thought it'd be fun to take the bass apart and make a route where the bridge goes, in turn lowering the entire bridge about 1/4".

Here was my dilemma: I'm 16, I'm unemployed and I have no real knowledge of tools and whatnot.... but so far my 'project' is working.

With little more that a steak knife, a screwdriver and sandpaper (80 grit) I've managed to make a route that's almost flat and I've begun to strip off the paint with sandpaper.

I made this post because I'm so damn proud of my project :p and because I figure there's some really knowledgeable people on this forum. So... critique, offer advice, or just say something. I appreciate any feedback in advance. :D

-Dante

(I know the bass looks like a mess in the picture, but I literally just put it down to come make this post... it looks better when it's not so dusty ;))

2. Toasted

Toasted

May 26, 2003
    Leeds, UK
    thats cool plenty of us do things like that!

check this out:

[​IMG]

RRRR mu current project... it WAS white!

3. reachjkh

reachjkh

Nov 21, 2002
    Lee's Summit, MO
    It would have been a lot easier to adjust the neck or shim it.

4. cheezewiz

cheezewiz

Mar 27, 2002
    Ohio
    You mean you didn't try to adjust the truss rod first?!?!

:eek: :confused:

5. The problem wasn't the neck at all.