Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

my bass has a buzz,...inside?

Discussion in 'Setup & Repair [DB]' started by groovking, Sep 25, 2002.

1. i was just playing my 3/4 bass which i have on trial . its real quiet at home right now so i started playing abit and i hear this slight rattle or better described as a slight buzz. seems to be coming from the inside of the bass. i get a feeling something may be inside the bass causing this. any clues. i hear it when i hit a d on the a string, or any other note in that area or surrounding strings, mid register,. i guess i should bring it back to the store i bought it from, unless there is something obvious you folks may know that i should check. thanks in advance.......... :(

2. anonymous0726

anonymous0726 Guest

Nov 4, 2001
    Could be a loose seam. Could be a loose bass bar. Could be the wiring of the pickup touching the bass somewhere, if it's so equipped. Could be the endpin. Could be the strings on the tailpiece. Could be the machines. Could be a bad string. Could be something in the room.

This list should keep you busy for a few minutes.

3. I assume its not a buzz on the fingerboard, produced by actio set to olow or bad shaping of the fingerboard. Here are some ideas to try.

1. Put a small light inside, and in a darkened room examine all of the bass's seams from the outside. Look also at the front and back plates, although a small or latent crack in a plate may create a buzz but not leak any light.

2. Get an assistant to play the bass and reproduce the buzz, while you touch every part of the bass lighly with your hands. Usually you can locate the buzz this way.

Also, of course, your friendly neighborhood bass luthier (hope you're lucky enough to have one nearby) should be able to find and repair any buzz.

4. Link

Link

Jul 6, 2002
    Latrobe, PA