My bass is a shifty character...

Discussion in 'Hardware, Setup & Repair [BG]' started by funk_engineer, Dec 3, 2002.

1. Hey. A little over a week ago, I finished tweaking the setup of my MIM Jazz. I'm no pro at that, but I got it a hell of a lot better than it was before without spending my money at the local store. Farely low, but with a little buzzing in the upper frets unless I played obscenely light. It stayed this way for several days. Then I left school for break and came back about a week later, and it was back to its old ways of high action. Is it normal for a neck to shift a lot like this in the course of a week? If it keeps doing this, what should I do- get lighter tension strings? (I was planning on trying out Thomastik-Infield Jazz Rounds at some point anyway).
  2. Joe Nerve

Joe Nerve Supporting Member

Oct 7, 2000
    New York City
    Endorsing artist: Musicman basses, Hipshot products
    i'm no expert on this stuff either, but there's a few things I've learned regarding my basses....

sudden changes in weather (seasons) dramatically changes my setups

keeping my bass in different rooms has affected them also, one room is a lot hotter or colder than the rest depending on the season here

my cheaper basses are affected more than the better ones. my warwick has a wenge neck and that thing don't budge - I have a couple of dan-electro hodada however and I never know what to expect with them.

maybe lighter strings will help - I use medium lights and I dont' think they should cause a problem on any bass.

are the screws that bolt the neck to the body really tight? maybve your problem is coming from there.

lastly - maybe your setups just take a week to settle for whatever unknown reason?
  3. Sudden changes of "friends" can also cause this ;)

Maybe someone "restored" it while you were away? Things usually dont change that fast.:eek:
  4. Bruce Lindfield

Bruce Lindfield Unprofessional TalkBass Contributor Gold Supporting Member