1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

My bass is too light

Discussion in 'Hardware, Setup & Repair [BG]' started by bmb73, Jun 6, 2011.

1. bmb73

bmb73

Aug 7, 2010
    San Diego
    Hey,

I have a squier standard jazz, and it is an awfully light bass. It really does not feel "stable", if that makes any sense. Does anyone have any suggestions not including buying a new bass?

2. Joe Nerve

Joe Nerve Supporting Member

Oct 7, 2000
    New York City
    Endorsing artist: Musicman basses
    Tape some fishing weights inside it.

3. bmb73

bmb73

Aug 7, 2010
    San Diego
    Good deal, I assume to just remove the pickguard and put them in the cavity? I am a noob so forgive me if it comes across like a dumb question.

Thanks!

4. Black Bart

Black Bart

Sep 11, 2010
    I think Joe Nerve might have been joking.

To be quite honest most of us here would not complain about a bass being to light. That said there is really nothing you can do to make it feel more solid, it is what it is.

5. SBassman

SBassman

Jun 8, 2003
    Northeast, US
    I think you should be pleased. Does it sound good?

Light basses are hard to come by.

6. Staccato

Staccato Low End Advocate

Aug 14, 2009
    Alabama
    Exactly, lead fishing weights in the vicinity of the pickups. The magnetic qualities of the pickups should help hold them steady. :bag:

7. elgecko

elgecko

Apr 30, 2007
    Anasleim, CA
    This might be the first time someone came onto TB to complain that their bass was too light!

8. Joe Nerve

Joe Nerve Supporting Member

Oct 7, 2000
    New York City
    Endorsing artist: Musicman basses
    I was serious actually. I just bought some to try to alleviate some neckdive in my fenderbird but it only made the bass heavier.

9. Black Bart

Black Bart

Sep 11, 2010
    Lighter tuners?

10. darkstorm

darkstorm

Oct 13, 2009